Windflower in bloom

While hiking in an in-town natural area a couple of days ago my son Nathan and I came upon a pleasant surprise–Carolina Anenome or Windflower.

anenome_crop1

Windflower, or Anenome caroliniana is one of my favorite late winter/early spring wildflowers.  I usually start seeing this plant in flower starting sometime in February but I spotted this plant in a small population of early blooming plants.  This flower has no petals.  The white “petals” are actually sepals, which on a typical flower, are green in color.  These plants are perennials.  This particular species is confined mostly to the eastern 1/4 of Texas.  However, the Rolling Plains should have its own species of Windflower, Anemome berlandieri, and I will be on the lookout for this in the upcoming weeks.

This should be my last post from College Station, TX. Relocation to the Texas Rolling Plains happens soon…

2 responses to “Windflower in bloom

  1. We are eagerly awaiting your arrival. Just don’t bring us any strange species of burrs or sticker weeds from down that way. East Texas has already contributed their silly sand burrs!

  2. Thanks. I’ll be sure to clean my shoes before heading out to Abilene! I think all those sandburs migrated out to the Big Country for good. Haven’t seen too many of them around College Station. But I do remember always needing to extract them from my feet while growing up out in Odessa (TX)! You might get a kick out of the scientific name for sandburs:

    Cenchrus incertus

Leave a Reply

