Why all of the interest in bull nettle?

This blog gets about 10 to 15 hits per day from internet searches on “bull nettle” or something similar.  All of this makes me really curious.  If you have come here to read about bull nettle please leave a comment about why you are interested in this plant. Maybe I can use your comments to come up with a new interesting essay about this interesting plant.  Thanks.

Oh, here’s the link to the earlier piece about bull nettle.

22 responses to “Why all of the interest in bull nettle?

  1. Laura In East Texas

    I am looking for a treatment for a severe reaction to the sting. From my knee down to my toes is extremely swollen with discoloration, huge blisters, pain and an intense itch. I have tried antihistamines and cream, to no avail.

  2. Going to http://www.rawfamily.com we found that stinging nettle was very nutritious blended into a green smoothie. We harvested some yesterday in an old cemetery near Buffalo, TX and tried it. It was actually very tasty with mango and lemon but found that “stinging nettle” is different than what we picked, which was “bull nettle.” Now we have to find out if “bull nettle” is as nutritious or is just another “plant from hell.” In picking it with my knife I had a plastic bag over my hand and it STILL pierced the bag and GOT me. How on earth….?

  3. Gary in North Texas

    Like Laura, I am looking for an effective treatment. I have been puzzled by the source of the awful swelling and itching I have been suffering this summer. It always occurs after a fishing expedition on the Paluxy river. I thought it was some type of insect bite or aquatic parasite. However, I know that I came into contact with nettle on the last trip and the symptoms described seem to confirm this as nettle stings.
    I have been an outdoorsman all my life but have never had a reaction to anything that was this much bother.

  4. crash sour dock roots will relive the pain in sec.
    you can eat the nut too, raw or cooked
    roasted them at different amount, and the taste change at each level of roasted.and it roasted a lot they taste like coffee
    my grand mother was 1/2 Indian and teach me all about different kind of plants in Texas
    make sure to remove the waxing end and then crack them open to get at the nut.

  5. I am interested in the medicinal uses for bull nettle, if it has any, thought it might help relieve some allergy symptoms, but not sure. For so much defense, this little stinging plant sure has great defenses.
    Treatment for the stinging and itching – rub the affected area with wet sand, i.e. spit in some sand/dirt and rub the area – works for me every time.

  6. also, want to try some of the seeds (nuts?) sounds interesting.

  7. Kevin in Gustine

    I am interested because I have literally hundreds of the plants on my property. I keep chopping them out of the ground. I’ve gotten rid of most of them but not all. Been stung many times.

  8. I’m interested because I have them growing all over my place and heard somewhere they were edible. From reading posts tonight it seems that they are edible as young leaves and not as the flowering plants I have now. The nuts are edible in the fall? Maybe I’ll try that before I try to kill them out.

  9. Knew an old timer that boiled the roots to make tea for certain illness.

  10. My daughter is a photographer and got stung by the nettle while doing some photo shoot for senior pictures… with welts on her ankles and prom soon to come we are searching for some remedies! Your site was the best we found.

  11. Kelley Garner

    The reason for my interest in stinging nettle comes from an article on compost teas. These teas are used to fertilize your garden. I found this article reading some material from the Teaxs Ag. Exten. Office. You get 3/4 barrel of stinging nettle cover well with water using the Texas heat in 10 to 14 days you should have a organic fertilizer. (I will use a pump to move the water). Thank you for your infomation.

  12. Dodie Wagner

    I am just curious about the nut. I am 67 years old I grew up in Southern Oklahoma, with my little Choctaw Indian grandmother and I recall the Bull nettle nut was a real treat. The sting of the plant is brutal but we would chance the bite of sting to get to the nut. It is that good! We never ate the leaves only the nuts.

  13. My horse was “attacked” by a nettle of some sort (green & purple vertically striped stem with leaves similarly shaped to strawberry leaves … still trying to correctly ID it) The horse ended up going into shock from the swellings, resulting in a neurological reaction wherein he was unable to walk. After a trip to the vet, and 24 hours of recovery, he was okay, but hence my interest!

  14. I found a reference to this as a perrenial vegetable, and i was curious. If i already had it maybe i’d keep it, but it doesn’t sound like it would be worth trying to add to my collection. Too many other less dangerous options out there.

  15. Researching the affects of bull nettle on arthritis.

  16. I found some on accident when my foot brushed against it wearing flip flops. Ouch! I was looking for a remedy to make the burning sensation go away.

  17. I am interested in bull nettle because the nuts it produces are incredibly tasty. I have traveled the world and it is still one of my favorite treats. But watch out – you will have to navigate a maddening sting if you aren’t careful. My mother and father grew up during the Big Depression. Mom introduced our family to bull nettle on one of our frequent afternoon walks around a developing neighborhood in North Texas in the 60’s. Like birds, squirrels and other wild plants my poor parents had to eat any thing they could harvest during those difficult days.

  18. I was searching for information on edible plants native to Texas. While not exactly what I was looking for, yours is the most informative I have found. I will be book marking this sight.

  19. I had a vivid dream about getting stung by bull nettle. I woke up and remembered how as a child in Palestine my cousins and I got stung very often. If memories serve me correctly, our grandma’s home remedy was to urinate on it.

  20. Riley McMillan

    Just got into a discussion with my son in law who lives in Bermuda about bull nettle and it brought back memories of my childhood in north louisiana. There is a natural cure for the sting that usually growes near the bull nettle. Milk weed sap rubbed on immediately after getting stung brings immediate relief like magic. Like the nuts too.

  21. Tommy J. Bellomy

    I am interested because of a conversation regarding taking the sting out of bites or varius needle pricks. I learned as a little preschooler while picking beans with my mother, when stuck by the needles on my knee. “Go to the fence row and pee on my knee to take the sting and swelling away.” By the time she convinced me and I got to the fence row, my knee was really hot, swollen, and itching like crazy. It hurt like – you know what. But the urine did it’s neutralizing the poison.

  22. I’m writing a short story that uses Texas wildflowers and I wanted a plant with a mean disposition. I wanted to make sure I was using the right nettle!

Leave a Reply

